MACBA

MACBA
One word epitomizes the Barcelona skate scene (well it’s more like an acronym), and that acronym is MACBA, the Museum for Art Contemporary Barcelona. I am still not sure what the last A stands for. Either way this skate spot lives up to its name. One long smooth granite ledge stands at the centre of the whole thing, just calling your name.
skateMacba II


Along with a few other ledges of different sizes, some drops, a nice 5 set and the newly renovated big 3 set in the back, this place has a lot to offer. That is to say nothing about the smooth granite tiles where you are propelled forward forever with just one push.
MACBA 3
pablo flip barcellona
The other part of MACBA is the vibe. Now granted this can change from day to day, but generally the locals are friendly and people are in a good mood because of course they are skating in Barcelona. Lots of people come there to hang out, talk, watch the skating and have something to drink (you can drink openly in Barcelona). Even if you don’t skate it is a fun place to people watch.
_DC15118
One of the other great things is that it is a no bust spot. You are officially allowed to skate there on Sunday and Tuesday evenings but there seems to be little attempt to scare people off at any other time of the day. The evenings are always a good choice because it is shady at that point and there are lots of people to skate with.
MACBA Skateboarding
ph. Wipeout.it
One little tip is if you are looking for a place to grab some water just head down the street were you see all the people sitting at tables and eating dinner. At the end on the left there is a little corner store where you can by 1.5 liters of water for under $1. This is great because water is a must especially if you are there in the summer. If there is a place to start your skate trip in Barcelona or maybe you only have 1 day and you can’t decide where to go definitely go to MACBA.

5 Comments

Filed under Barcelona Skateboarding

5 responses to “MACBA

  1. Ismael

    Fucking awesome, thx for the map!

  2. Allan Watson

    Hi, I’m a University researcher from England and I’m hoping to write an article on skateboarding at MACBA. I’d love to get to speak to some skateboarders who use this site – you can get in touch with me at a.watson@staffs.ac.uk. I’ll be over in Barcelona in April, and will be hanging around MACBA then!

  3. Greetings from Ohio! I’m bored at work so I decided to browse your site on my iphone during lunch break. I really like the info you present here and can’t wait to take a
    look when I get home. I’m surprised at how quick your blog loaded on my cell phone .. I’m not even using WIFI, just 3G .

    . Anyways, great site!

  4. I have been exploring for a bit for any high quality articles or blog posts in this kind of space . Exploring in Yahoo I eventually stumbled upon this web site. Reading this info So i am glad to show that I’ve a very just right uncanny feeling I discovered exactly what I needed. I so much for sure will make sure to dont forget this web site and give it a glance a continuing basis|regularly}.

Leave a Reply

